Skip to content

Classic Hummus with Extras

February 2, 2013
How to make hummus

How to make hummus

Hummus is one of those genius culinary concepts from ancient times. I applaud the humans that thought to paste sesame seeds, and the humans who thought to cook garbanzo beans to the point of unrecognizable mashability, and last, but certainly not least, the machinist who invented a food processor which makes my life ridiculously easy at times. Through their brilliance, mankind has benefited from a complex and satisfying dip, spread, topping, nibble and nosh we call hummus. The variations are endless–roasted garlic, roasted red pepper, kalamata olives, herbs galore, and more. All whipped into a finger-dipping fluff.

Classic Hummus

Sometimes I just want to appreciate a good thing for what it is. No tampering, no messing, no-techno versions of Christmas classics, please! Just straight up traditional. Boring? Hardly. Sometimes the prettiest girl at the prom isn’t the one in red boasting that bold is more beautiful, but rather the one draped in a simple gown played down to accentuate her natural beauty.

Classic Creamy Hummus

Classic creamy, fluffy hummus teeters on the branding of comfort food in my book. Drizzle with good quality olive oil, a dusting of fresh ground pepper, and perhaps some toasted pine nuts. This makes a perfect wrap spread, fresh veggie dip, and is excellent with toasted pita wedges and kalamata olives on the side. I contemplated whether it was sufficient to categorize hummus under appetizers and snacks alone on this site, and ultimately I resisted the temptation of labeling it a main course despite its possibilities of standing alone for a small lunch.

Wait, there is more regarding this, dare I call it by such a humble name, “bean dip”… always more. Why? Because I just can’t leave well enough alone, as sometimes I ought to, but in this case, I believe I am excused…

Parsley Scallion Hummus

Although I respect the girl wearing the elegant floor-length gown with only small traces of make-up on her flawless face, sometimes it just doesn’t suit my mood. Sometimes I want a little more caramel highlights in my hair (my lame version of venturing out) than usual or a deeper shade of red lipstick. Sometimes I buy the $5 more expensive bottle of wine to try something new and because I got plum suckered by the sexy description on the label–something about hints of blackberries and chocolate. And don’t even get me started on the shoes that I have purchased over the years thinking how they would dress up my old pair of jeans because I refused to buy another post-maternity sized article of clothing. Sometimes I am just trying to scratch an annoying itch that nags at me to switch things up a bit.

It just so happens that I love scallions and flat-leaf parsley. It also just so happens that I had a bunch of both of them neatly tucked away in my vegetable drawer just calling hummus’s name. And finally, as fate would have it, when I dipped my finger in for a sampling, my taste buds gave their certified stamp of approval. It felt better than a new shade of deep red lipstick and was certainly cheaper than a new pair of shoes. But who’s talking about eating to feel good? This just feels right.

Herb Hummus

Let me know if you try other variations of hummus than what I mentioned here. I am curious what hummus versions have stood in lieu of a new hair style for you.

-Amanda

 

Parsley Scallion Hummus

Serves: 4-6
Making your own hummus gives you the ability to add more or less tahini, lemon juice, and salt to your liking. What leaves the biggest impression in my mind is the smooth, fluffy texture that is acheived with hummus that has been freshly whipped in a food processor. Not to mention the endless variations you can make depending on what you have on hand.
Ingredients
  • 1 (15 ounce/425 grams) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/3 cup tahini (sesame paste)
  • 2-3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 garlic clove, germ removed and chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • pinch of crushed red pepper (optional)
  • 3-4 tablespoons water
  • 1/3 cup flat-leaf parsley, chopped
  • 1/3 cup scallions, chopped
  • olive oil
  • fresh ground pepper
Instructions
  1. Add chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and crushed red pepper (optional) in a food processor and run until a thick paste forms. Add water through feed tube with machine running and let run for 3-5 minutes until smooth and fluffy. Stop here for a classic hummus. Otherwise, add parsley, scallions, and 2 more tablespoons of water before blitzing for another minute.
  2. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle on fresh ground pepper and toasted pine nuts if desired before serving. It is best served the same day, but can be stored in an air tight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 days (or more without herbs).
Notes

Tahini is a paste that is formed from ground sesame seeds, much like peanuts in peanut butter. You can find it in specialty grocery stores or middle eastern grocery stores. Also, if you remove the germ (little green center) from garlic, it will help prevent the hummus from being overpowered by the heat of raw garlic.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

